Thursday, 24 October 2013

The SHPHM does well in the latest NHMRC grant round!

nhmrcmediareleasePrime Minister, the Hon. Tony Abbott, Federal Health Minister the Hon. Peter Dutton and Victorian Health Minister, the Hon. David Davis announced the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) grants across eight schemes in Melbourne on Wednesday at the AMREP Precinct .

The European Collaboration Grant awarded to Professor Jamie Cooper and his team at the The Australian and New Zealand Intensive Care Research Centre (ANZIC-RC) will support Australian participation in a unique international collaborative research program aimed to improve outcomes for people with severe brain injury.

“This project, led by Monash with a large European collaboration, aims to use new statistical methods to search for better treatments that improves the long-term outcomes of patients with traumatic brain injury” explained Professor Cooper.

He explains it will also be part of a major international collaborative with Europe, the US and Canada, and the NHMRC grant will assist the ANZIC-RC to join this global collaboration.

The SPHPM attracted $8.5 million in Project Grants. More than $5 million was awarded to a project led by A/Professor Sophia Zoungas and Professor John McNeil, for a study of cholesterol lowering medications for reducing cardiovascular events in the elderly.

Other successful Project Grants were led by Dr Anna Barker, A/Professor Belinda Gabbe, Dr Carolina Weller and Professor Susan Davis.

Four Career Development Fellowships (CDF) were awarded to A/Prof Allen Cheng, A/Prof Anita Wluka, Dr Anna Barker and Dr Yuanyuan Wang. Six Early Career Researcher Fellowships (ECF) were awarded to Dr Janet Bray, Dr Biswadev Mitra and Dr Joanne McKenzie.

More details can be found on the NHMRC Website.

No comments:

Post a Comment